#BlogTour – #BookReview of #TheDangerousKind by Deborah O’Connor @deboc77 @Tr4cyF3nt0n @zaffrebooks #1in100People

I’m delighted to welcome you to my stop on the blog tour for the fantastic The Dangerous Kind by Deborah O’Connor. Thank you to Tracy Fenton and Zaffre Books for giving me the opportunity to read and review this book.

About the book:

F0261D13-416C-4FE1-AABD-6682046D5864

Perfect for fans of Anatomy of A Scandal, He Said/She Said, and Belinda Bauer, The Dangerous Kind is at once a gripping thriller and a stunning portrayal of the monsters that live among us.

One in 100 of us is a ‘potentially dangerous person’ – someone likely to commit a violent crime. We all know them: these charmers, liars and manipulators. The ones who send prickles up the back of our neck. These people hide in plain sight, they can be teachers, doctors, holding positions of trust, of power.

Jessamine Gooch makes a living tracking the 1 in 100. Each week she broadcasts a radio show that examines brutal offences, asking if more could have been done to identify and prevent their perpetrators.

But when she agrees to investigate a missing person case involving a young mother, she is drawn into a web of danger that will ultimately lead to the upper echelons of power, and threaten the safety of her own family.

What if the people we trust are the ones we should fear?

About the author:

22041E6C-4EC0-46F2-A546-6A76C02E6BE0

Deborah O’Connor is a writer and TV producer. Born and bred in the North-East of England, in 2010 she completed the Faber Academy novel writing course. She lives in London with her husband and daughter.

You can follow her on twitter here: @deboc77

My Review:

95B4B0ED-15D9-45B5-9928-386C2A902154

I’d been seeing and hearing a lot of buzz surrounding this book, so when I was asked to be a part of the blog tour I jumped at the chance! And I’m so glad I did as The Dangerous Kind is a brilliant and chilling read that really makes you stop and think.

The message of this book that one in every one hundred of us is ‘the dangerous kind’ is a scary but very real eye opener. People who hide in plain sight, but have the potential to commit a violent crime, are living amongst us without us ever knowing they are there. Until one day the unthinkable happens and you realise they were right there in front of you the whole time. It’s a terrifying prospect, but sadly a very plausible one.

Jessamine Gooch hosts a radio show that looks at what could have been done to prevent violent crimes from happening in the first place. But when she agrees to investigate missing Cassie, things take an unexpected turn that lead her into a web of danger that could threaten the safety of her own family.

Deborah O’Connor has written an exciting psychological thriller that drew me in from the very first page. Jessamine is a fascinating character who I warmed to straight away. She’s a slightly menopausal single mum who is doing her best to raise a teenage daughter, at the same time as trying to hold down a high profile, stressful job. I felt a great deal of empathy for Jess as we moved through the book into a dark and disturbing storyline.

The Dangerous Kind deals with some difficult and uncomfortable subjects, handling them with sensitivity and understanding. The story is told over dual  timelines, with the story going back and forth between each one as it slowly reveals the devastating and shocking truth.

Not an easy read by any means, but one that is beautifully written and thought provoking, with a cautionary tale that’s very relevant to the times we live in at its heart.

I’m so glad I was given the opportunity to read this fantastic book. It’s a stunning psychological thriller that I would highly recommend.

The Dangerous Kind by Deborah O’Connor is available to buy here: Amazon UK

Check out what these other lovely bloggers have to say about this book:

37B5157F-7940-41ED-8FA6-872FDFC11207

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s