#BlogTour – #BookReview of #LoveUnscripted by @OwenNicholls @headlinepg @annecater #RandomThingsTours

I’m delighted to be kicking off the blog tour today for heartwarming debut novel Love, Unscripted by Owen Nicholls. Thank you to Anne Cater and Headline for giving me the opportunity to read and review this fantastic book.

About the book:

Owen Nicholls’ Love, Unscripted is an uplifting love story, following film projectionist Nick as he tries to understand the difference between love on the silver screen and love in real life. Perfect for fans of David Nicholls, Nick Hornby and Laura Barnett.

For Nick, love should look like it does on the big screen. And when he meets Ellie on the eve of the 2008 presidential election, it finally does. For four blissful years, Nick loved Ellie as much as he loved his job as a film projectionist in his local cinema. Life seemed picture- perfect. But now it’s 2012, Ellie has moved out and Nick’s trying to figure out where it all went wrong. With Ellie gone and his life falling part, Nick wonders if their romance could ever be as perfect as the night they met.

Can love really be as it is in the movies?

About the author:

5485B032-1B34-4894-B82A-27214D508E97

Owen Nicholls is a screenwriter with a Masters in Scriptwriting from the UEA. His work has appeared in Empire and NME, and earlier this year Love, Unscripted was selected for the Escalator Scheme run by Writers’ Centre in Norwich.

My Review:

What a delightful and impressive debut novel Love, Unscripted by Owen Nicholls is! I fell in love with this heartwarming and quirky story from the outset. It’s full of a warmth and humour that gets under your skin from the moment you begin reading, with characters you can’t help but fall in love with. The movie references littered throughout, most of which I was familiar with, only added to the magic of what is a lovely, moving and often funny read.

It tells the story of Nick and Ellie, who meet on the eve of the presidential election in 2008. Nick is a film projectionist who has a love for the big screen. For him, love should look like it does in the movies and, for a while, it does. But now, four years later, Ellie has moved out and Nick is trying to figure out where it all went wrong. With Ellie gone and his life falling apart at the seams, Nick wonders if there’s a chance they could ever recapture the magic of the night they first met. Can love really be as it is in the movies?

The story flips back and forth between the night Nick and Ellie met in 2008 and four years later, just after Ellie moves out, in 2012. In between, the story is told via ‘Intermissions’ in the style of a possible screenplay that offer a snapshot of pivotal moments in their relationship. I loved this way of telling the story and it worked incredibly well here,  perfectly bridging the gap between the ‘then’ and ‘now’ of the story.

Owen Nicholls has written a book that’s full of warmth, taking you on a heartwarming journey of love and romance that will capture your heart.  Will Nick and Ellie’s love story have an ending worthy of the silver screen? Will it be a classic weepy or a Hugh Grant worthy RomCom? Read it for yourself to find out. You won’t regret it! I know I certainly didn’t.

Love, Unscripted is a beautifully written debut to be proud of. Nick and Ellie are brought oh so vividly to life, their story full of the ups and downs of life, making me laugh out loud one moment and then feel incredibly moved the next. With a cast of colourful supporting characters, including Nick’s fabulous sister Gabby and the hilarious but cringeworthy François, this is a romantic comedy not to be missed.

If this wonderful, quirky and heartwarming story is his debut, can you imagine the delights Owen Nicholls has in store for us in the future? I can’t wait to see what this talented author comes up with next! Love, Unscripted is an impressive debut I would highly recommend.

Love, Unscripted by Owen Nicholls is available to buy in Ebook now and in Hardback from August 22nd: Amazon UK

Follow along with the blog tour to see what these other lovely bloggers have to say:

3A0F1038-9AB0-469E-8F1B-095ED76AAC74

 

One thought on “#BlogTour – #BookReview of #LoveUnscripted by @OwenNicholls @headlinepg @annecater #RandomThingsTours

Leave a Reply to annecater Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s