#BlogTour – #BookReview of #Control by Hugh Montgomery @hugh_montgomery @ZaffreBooks @Tr4cyF3nt0n

I’m pleased to welcome you today to my blog tour for medical thriller Control by Hugh Montgomery. Thank you to Tracy Fenton and Zaffre Books for giving me the opportunity to read and review this fantastic book.

About the book:

A dark and compulsive medical thriller written by a doctor who has seen it all, perfect for fans of Don’t Wake Up and Tess Gerritsen.

‘A suspenseful and frightening thriller’ Lynda La Plante

Renowned surgeon Michael Trenchard locks his office door and prepares for a relaxing evening. But what follows is a living nightmare when later he is discovered in a locked-in coma, the victim of an auto-erotic asphyxiation.

It is left to Doctor Kash Devan, Trenchard’s young protégé, to uncover the truth. And what he discovers is chilling . . .

In his ruthless pursuit of wealth and success, Trenchard has left a trail of wrecked lives, and angry people, behind him. Which of Trenchard’s victims hated him so much that they wanted to ruin not only his reputation, but his life as well?

Not all doctors are heroes . . .

About the author:

Hugh Montgomery is a distinguished physician, known for his pioneering genetic research.  Outside the field of medicine, he was a founding member of the UK Climate and Health Council and is an endurance expert, who has run three ultra-marathons, scaled the world’s sixth highest mountain, jumped naked from a plane at 14,000 ft and holds the world record for underwater piano playing.

Zaffre, Bonnier Books UK’s flagship adult fiction imprint, published Control in August 2019.

My Review:

Control by Hugh Montgomery is a unique and compelling medical thriller that will keep you guessing throughout. Renowned surgeon Michael Trenchard is found in his office in a locked-in coma, the victim of auto-erotic asphyxiation. His young protégé, Doctor Kash Devan, believes there is more to this than meets the eye and sets out to discover the truth. But what he discovers is more chilling than even he could ever have anticipated…

What follows is a fast paced and terrifying medical thriller that is most definitely not for those of a squeamish nature! The book is set in a hospital which makes for an even more chilling read, with detailed descriptions of medical procedures that made me squirm. There is a fair bit of medical jargon, but not enough to put me off reading it, and used in an easy to understand way that didn’t pull me out of the story.

I loved Kash and his enthusiastic, but sometimes naive, attitude. His determination to uncover the truth leaves him vulnerable and fearing for his own life, while Michael Trenchard, on the other hand, has left a trail of wrecked lives and angry people behind him on his way to the top. A ruthless character who is difficult to like, I still couldn’t help but empathise with the situation he found himself in. The thought of a locked-in coma is terrifying to me, and this claustrophobic feeling was brought oh so vividly and horrifyingly to life in this story. Who hated Dr Trenchard so much they were prepared to go to such horrifying lengths to punish him?

Control is a stylish psychological thriller, with plenty of twists and turns that kept me turning pages long after the lights should have gone out. This is a book that chilled me to the bone, with a story that kept me on my toes throughout. There are some shocking moments that literally made me gasp out loud and every time I thought I had it all worked out, something else happened that changed everything. The tension increased tenfold as the story raced to its conclusion, leading to a shocking denouement I did not see coming!

Hugh Montgomery has written a taut, unique thriller that kept me gripped throughout. The medical nature of this book sets it apart from other thrillers and is unlike any I’ve ever read before. A thoroughly enjoyable read that I would recommend.

Control by Hugh Montgomery is available to buy now: Amazon UK

Check out what these other fabulous bloggers have had to say about this book:

4D1AFB7A-39AA-4E7E-A6B7-4B0B774FC0FC

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s