#BlogTour – #BookReview of #LakeChild by Isabel Ashdown @IsabelAshdown @TrapezeBooks @orionbooks @Tr4cyF3nt0n

I’m delighted to welcome you today to my stop on the blog tour for gripping psychological thriller Lake Child by Isabel Ashdown. Thank you to Tracy Fenton for the invitation and to Trapeze Books for the opportunity to read and review this fantastic book.

About the book:

D443B6D0-1A7B-409E-8938-72E63F95B722

You trust your family. They love you. Don’t they?

When 17-year-old Eva Olsen awakes after a horrific accident that has left her bedbound, her parents are right by her side. Devoted, they watch over her night and day in the attic room of their family home in the forests of Norway.

But the accident has left Eva without her most recent memories, and not everything is as it seems. As secrets from the night of the accident begin to surface, Eva realises – she has to escape her parents’ house and discover the truth. But what if someone doesn’t want her to find it?

An edge-of-your-seat, atmospheric psychological thriller for fans of Lucy Clarke and Erin Kelly.

About the author:

2FC42855-9510-46AC-BDAA-A2E0E4E5D7F5

Isabel Ashdown was born in London and grew up on the south coast of England. The opening of her debut won the Mail on Sunday Novel Competition, going on to be published as Glasshopper and being named as one of the best books of the year.

Today, she writes full-time, walks daily, and volunteers in a local school for the charity Pets as Therapy. Isabel lives in Sussex with her carpenter husband, their two children and dogs Charlie and Leonard.

Follow Isabel on Twitter @IsabelAshdown

My Review:

Lake Child by Isabel Ashdown is one of those books that’s very difficult to review for fear of giving too much away. It’s a gripping psychological thriller that drew me in from the very first page and didn’t let go until the final page had been turned. Full of twists and turns that will keep you on your toes throughout, the surprises kept on coming thick and fast, so much so that every time I thought I’d finally worked out what was happening, something else happened that made me realise I’d got it all completely wrong!

I warmed to the character of Eva and the situation she found herself in from the very start, my heart aching for her as she attempted to put the missing pieces of her memories back together again. The fear and confusion she felt were palpable as we slowly moved through the story, with Eva being such an unreliable narrator that you never really knew what was real and what wasn’t.

Lake Child is a book that builds slowly, with the tension increasing in momentum as the threads of the story gradually begin to come together. It’s a heartbreaking and shocking read, brilliantly written by the talented Isabel Ashdown, keeping me on the edge of my seat as we raced towards its thrilling conclusion.

A suspense filled, atmospheric thriller that I would highly recommend. A must read.

Lake Child by Isabel Ashdown is available to buy now: Amazon UK

Check out what these other fabulous bloggers have to say about this book:

48B6C5B3-213C-490F-A2B2-4972EE9FDADABF230CD7-BCC3-48BB-8969-9017B9E162ED

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s