#BlogTour – #BookReview of #TheUnforgetting by #RoseBlack @orionbooks @annecater #RandomThingsTours

For my first blog tour post of the year I’m delighted to welcome you to my stop (and the first day) of the tour for chilling gothic thriller The Unforgetting by Rose Black. Thank you to Anne Cater and Orion Books for giving me the opportunity to read and review this mesmerising new novel.

About the book:

128D8935-A5E1-4FA9-BE6E-EBE0CE4B4DBB

A story of the trappings of fame, magic and the power of illusion in Victorian London.

Power, theatre and ghosts in a Victorian gothic historical, perfect for fans of The Silent CompanionsThe Night Circus and The Familiars.

When Lily Bell is sold by her father to a ‘Professor of Ghosts’ to settle a bad debt, she thinks she about to hit the London stage as an actress. But little does she know that the professor intends her to be his very own ghost, part of an elaborate illusion for a fascinated audience.

Obsessed with perfection, the professor covers all bases to ensure his illusion is realistic – and when Lily comes across her own obituary in the paper, and then her own headstone in the cemetery, she soon realises that she is trapped, her parents think she is dead – and soon her fate is to become even darker…

About the author:

Rose Black has written stories all her life. Her long-standing fascination with the Victorians and 19th century England underlies this novel. An award-winning freelance writer, she’s covered health, overseas development and education. Married, with two children, she lives partly in London and at other times by the sea. In her spare time, she enjoys wild swimming and growing food and flowers on her allotment.

My Review:

The Unforgetting by Rose Black is a mesmerising and chilling gothic thriller set against the atmospheric backdrop of Victorian London. It tells the story of Lily Bell, a young woman who is sold by her stepfather to a ‘Professor of Ghosts’ to settle a debt. She believes she is about to realise her long held dream of becoming an actress on the London stage, but unbeknownst to her the professor intends her to become his very own ghost, part of an elaborate illusion for a spellbound audience.

From the opening pages right up until the final page had been turned, this is a book that shocks, with twists and turns that will leave you breathless. The horror Lily feels at the situation she finds herself in is palpable, as she slowly comes to the devastating realisation that she is now a prisoner with no free will of her own. Alongside Lily’s tale is the story of Faye, the professor’s sister, whose life is about to become inextricably entwined with Lily’s. As the young actress begins to lose her grip on reality, both women are fighting their own inner demons, desperate to break free from the iron fist of Erasmus Salt who appears to have no redeemable qualities whatsoever.

The Unforgetting is a story that shines a spotlight on the dark side of Victorian England, an era where women had no say in their own lives, often having to rely on men for even the most basic of decisions. It deals with some difficult and upsetting subjects that do not always make for easy reading, but Lily and Faye do not only appear as victims. They show a resilience and strength of character that is nothing short of miraculous considering the inhumane treatment both receive from the terrifying Erasmus Salt.

Rose Black has written a mesmerising and chilling gothic tale of obsession and illusion. Her writing is beautiful, with a clever and intricate plot that keeps you on the edge of your seat throughout. The character development of both Lily and Faye is what makes this book so readable, each woman somehow managing to rise up from the ashes of the horrific lives they have been forced to lead.

The Unforgetting is a haunting tale that I would highly recommend and is a fantastic read to begin the new year with!

The Unforgetting by Rose Black is available to buy from January 9th 2020: Amazon UK

Follow along with the blog tour to see what these other fabulous bloggers have to say about this book:

8EDA7D96-24B0-4E12-8017-3AA2F572244C

2 thoughts on “#BlogTour – #BookReview of #TheUnforgetting by #RoseBlack @orionbooks @annecater #RandomThingsTours

Leave a Reply to calturner Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s