#BlogTour – #BookReview of #Backlash by Marnie Riches @Marnie_Riches @TrapezeBooks @Tr4cyF3nt0n

I’m pleased to welcome you today to my stop on the blog tour for fabulous crime thriller Backlash by Marnie Riches. Thank you to Tracy Fenton and Trapeze Books for giving me the opportunity to read and review this gripping book.

About the book:

0B699BCC-5C9F-4A2B-BE00-83F21F8A31B2

Keep your enemies close and your neighbours closer…

When Private Investigator Beverley Saunders is tasked with going undercover, she relishes the chance to disguise herself as a cleaner in order to get close to Manchester bad boy Anthony Anthony, aka 2Tone. Anthony’s neighbours are suspicious of his wealth and sick of his anti-social behaviour, and Bev’s just the woman they need to find out what’s going on behind closed doors.

As Bev begins to infiltrate Anthony’s world, she soon realises she’s in danger – and this time, she might be too far in to get out. Alongside her sidekick Doc, Bev must fight to discover the truth – but when people begin to die, she has to ask herself – is exposing Anthony worth risking her own life?

Marnie Riches is back with a gritty, gripping thriller, perfect for fans of Martina Cole and Kimberley Chambers.

About the author:

4496F59A-21A2-4FEB-BB84-B254891A80D8

Marnie Riches grew up on a rough estate in north Manchester. Exchanging the spires of nearby Strangeways prison for those of Cambridge University, she gained a Masters in German & Dutch. She has been a punk, a trainee rock star, a pretend artist and professional fundraiser.

Her best-selling, award-winning George McKenzie crime thrillers, tackling the subject of trans-national trafficking, were inspired by her own time spent in The Netherlands. Dubbed the Martina Cole of the North, she is also the author of Born Bad and The Cover-Up – the critically acclaimed hit series about Manchester’s notorious gangland.

Tightrope is the start of a brand new series, set mainly in the famous footballer-belt of Hale, Cheshire, and introducing flawed but fearless northern PI, Bev Saunders who risks everything to fight the corner of her vulnerable client. The second Bev Saunders novel is out now. So far, Marnie has sold an impressive 250,000 books and counting…

When she isn’t writing gritty, twisty crime-thrillers, Marnie also regularly appears on BBC Radio Manchester, commenting about social media trends and discussing the world of crime-fiction.

My Review:

Backlash by Marnie Riches is the second book to feature Private Investigator Beverley Saunders, who was introduced in the author’s previous book Tightrope. This second installment in the series could easily be read as a standalone, however, with the story flowing well and the background of the fascinating Bev incorporated into this new tale with ease.

This time Bev and her sidekick, Doc, have taken on a case involving a nuisance neighbour dispute, which taken at face value should be a straightforward issue to solve. But there is so much more to this case than Bev first realised and things begin to get complicated as people begin to die and the topic of drugs raises its ugly head, with the fearless Bev soon finding her own life in danger…

I love Bev. She’s a strong, capable woman, but with a quirkiness that I find particularly endearing. This is a gripping thriller, with all the twists and turns you would expect from this kind of gritty read, but it’s also laugh out loud funny at times, with a clever plot and larger than life characters that capture your interest from the outset.

A thrilling and entertaining read that will keep you gripped from beginning to end, Backlash has all the ingredients for the perfect crime novel and I loved every word of it. Recommended.

Backlash by Marnie Riches is available to buy now: Amazon UK

Check out what these other lovely bloggers have to say about this book:

7C7FB5FF-2FF2-476A-AEDF-54F1ADA764C1

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s