#BlogTour – #BookReview of #TheMemoryWood by @samlloydwrites @TransworldBooks @annecater @ThomasssHill #RandomThingsTours

I’m pleased to welcome you today to my stop on the blog tour for the gripping and intense The Memory Wood by Sam Lloyd. Thank you to Anne Cater and Transworld Books for giving me the opportunity to read and review this wonderful book.

About the book:

D6EA32CB-87A2-4198-8A27-1174F2182F82

Elijah has lived in the Memory Wood for as long as he can remember. It’s the only home he’s ever known. Elissa has only just arrived. And she’ll do everything she can to escape.
When Elijah stumbles across thirteen-year-old Elissa, in the woods where her abductor is hiding her, he refuses to alert the police. Because in his twelve years, Elijah has never had a proper friend. And he doesn’t want Elissa to leave.

Not only that, Elijah knows how this can end. After all, Elissa isn’t the first girl he’s found inside the Memory Wood.

As her abductor’s behaviour grows more erratic, Elissa realises that outwitting strange, lonely Elijah is her only hope of survival. Their cat-and-mouse game of deception and betrayal will determine both their fates, and whether either of them will ever leave the Memory Wood…

Rights have been sold in 14 territories and counting. Perfect for fans of Stephen King, C.J. Tudor’s The Chalk Man and Adrian McKinty’s The Chain.

About the author:

21695D66-EC5D-4E98-B14A-31C49B90609A

Note from the Author:

I already had my crime scene. Pretty soon, I had my protagonist: thirteen-year-old chess prodigy Elissa Mirzoyan, a quietly precocious girl who wakes underground after being snatched on the most important day of her life. Her determination to survive the coming ordeal wouldn’t be driven by mere instinct. It would come from a flat-out refusal to leave her mum alone in the world, and would be tempered by a ferocious hunger for vengeance. Plotting a novel, for me, always feels more like a process of investigation than invention – the slow reveal of a dirt-covered mosaic.

And as I teased out more of this story’s individual tiles, I learned something even more compelling about Elissa’s plight. While engaging her abductor in increasingly dangerous mind games, she’ll face a separate threat even harder to navigate. It’ll come in the form of a frail young boy, Elijah North, who discovers her subterranean prison while playing in his local woods. Steadily, Elissa will gain Elijah’s trust.

But when she persuades him to raise the alarm, he’ll return with a tale too outlandish to be credible. More of the mosaic revealed itself, at which point I learned something about the story that knocked me flat. And then I had to write the book, just to find out how it ended…

The Author:

Sam Lloyd grew up in Hampshire, making up stories and building secret hideaways in his local woods. These days he lives in Surrey with his wife, three young sons and a dog that likes to howl. He enjoys craft beer, strong coffee and (rarely) a little silence. The Memory Wood is his debut thriller.

My Review:

Oh my goodness, what a brilliantly dark and twisted read this is! I was gripped from the very first page of The Memory Wood and once started I did not want to put it down. This is one of those books that’s difficult to review as saying too much would inevitably spoil the story, which I do not want to do! It’s a book that you need to read and experience for yourself as any review I write couldn’t possibly do this incredible book justice.

This is a book that sweeps you away on a tsunami of emotions as you find yourself drawn into the incredible story of Elissa and Elijah. The clever writing draws a picture so vivid you feel like you’re there with the children, experiencing everything through their eyes as the riveting but disturbing story unfolds.

I fell in love with the characters of Elissa and Elijah from the outset, feeling great empathy for them and the situation they unwittingly find themselves in. The dark and intricate plot twists and turns this way and that, with shocks and surprises that kept me reading long after I should have turned out the lights and gone to bed!

A devastatingly dark and disturbing read that will stay with me for a long time to come, Sam Lloyd has written a memorable debut thriller to be proud of. Highly recommended!

The Memory Wood by Sam Lloyd is available to buy now: Amazon UK

Check out what these other fabulous bloggers have to say about this book:

90999FB1-AC0A-4EA6-A2D1-0BCFB41710DF

 

2 thoughts on “#BlogTour – #BookReview of #TheMemoryWood by @samlloydwrites @TransworldBooks @annecater @ThomasssHill #RandomThingsTours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s