#BlogTour – #BookReview of #CanYouSeeHer by S.E. Lynes @SELynesAuthor @bookouture @sarahhardy681 #BooksOnTour

I’m delighted to welcome you today to my stop on the blog tour for brilliant psychological thriller Can You See Her? by S.E. Lynes. Thank you to Sarah Hardy and Bookouture for giving me the opportunity to read and review this superb book.

About the book:
B251DD8C-8E8B-4947-B618-A4E5D0E832BE

Rachel Ryder doesn’t understand how her life has changed so completely. When she was younger, heads would turn when she walked into a room. Her children needed her; her husband adored her.

But somehow the years wore that all away. She was so busy raising her children, looking after her parents… She can barely remember the woman she used to be, the one whose husband told her she was out of his league. The woman she is now just does the laundry and makes the dinner, and can walk into a room without anyone knowing she’s there.

She knows that she hated feeling invisible. She knows that she thought: what would it take for you to see me again?

And now she’s worried that she did something terrible. Because she’s sitting in a room, being asked whether she killed someone.

When no-one is watching, you can get away with anything…

Can You See Her? is an utterly compelling and unputdownable psychological thriller, about how far you can push a woman before she will break. Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, A.J. Finn and The Silent Patient.

About the author:
BC8A6BCF-2D99-4CCB-BD24-9BFC0A363A8D
After graduating from Leeds University, S E Lynes lived in London before moving to Aberdeen where she worked as a BBC Producer. In 2002, she moved to Rome with her husband and two young children. In 2007, after the birth of her third child, she returned to the UK and gained an MA in Creative Writing from Kingston University. Currently, she writes novels and teaches Creative Writing at Richmond Adult Community College.
@SELynesAuthor
Buy Links:
My Review:
Can You See Her? by S.E. Lynes is yet another sensational psychological thriller by this talented author that will keep you on your toes throughout. Her writing gets better and better with every book and, just when you think she can’t possibly write anything as good as her last book, she only goes and outdoes herself yet again!
I found myself empathising with the main character in this book from the very first page. Rachel Ryder is someone who I’m sure many women of a certain age can see themselves in. With a grownup family and a husband who seems distant, she can no longer remember the woman she used to be. Feeling invisible to all those around her, Rachel feels her fragile mental health begin to crack… and now she’s worried that she’s done something terrible. Something that will change the life of not only herself but her whole family – forever.
Can You See Her? is an emotional rollercoaster of a read, with twists and turns that kept me turning page after page, not wanting to put it down until every word had been read. I don’t want to say too much as I don’t want to spoil the plot but S.E. Lynes has written a story that really spoke to me on a personal level. Rachel is such a relatable character, especially to those of us of a certain age, and the emotional turmoil she goes through made my heart hurt.
The story is told mainly from Rachel’s point of view as she relates her story to a woman she calls ‘Blue Eyes’, with added input taken from the interviews of those who know her best. This style of writing works incredibly well and, as the events of the last few months unfold, a sad and heartbreaking picture begins to emerge.
I loved this book. It’s a devastating and compelling read that I could not put down. As more and more details emerge, the different strands of the story begin to come together and wow! It completely and utterly blew me away.
Can You See Her? is so much more than a psychological thriller. It delves into the psyche of an emotionally damaged woman and lays her bare for all to see, but is written in such a way that you can’t help but empathise with her and the situation she finds herself in. S.E. Lynes is an author at the top of her game and Can You See Her? is a book that will stay with me for some time to come.
Highly recommended.
Check out what these other fab bloggers have to say about this book:
FD06FA5C-2EFF-459B-8579-6DC19B366BA4

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s