#BlogTour – #BookReview of #IntoTheDarkestDay by Kate Hewitt @katehewitt1 @bookouture #BooksOnTour

I’m delighted to welcome you today to my stop on the blog tour for WW2 dual timeline novel Into The Darkest Day by Kate Hewitt. Thank you to Sarah Hardy and Bookouture for giving me the opportunity to read and review this gorgeous book.
Book Description:
28A6C7CB-84FC-42C5-A912-D04727D2EDF1

She had to step outside and hold the paper up to the moonlight to read it, but when she was able to make out the words, her heart felt as if it would drop right out of her chest. Because the message was in German.

1944, London:
When Lily meets enigmatic GI Matthew in war-torn London, she doesn’t expect to fall in love. While her sister starts a reckless affair with another GI, Lily tries to hide her growing feelings for Matthew.

But Matthew has a devastating secret. One that could change their lives forever.

Present day, USA:
Abby lives a quiet life on an apple farm in Wisconsin. Tormented by survivor’s guilt after the tragic deaths of her mother and brother, Abby leaves the orchards as little as possible, keeping her life small, peaceful and safe… Until she is contacted by Englishman Simon Elliot, who arrives nursing a heartbreak of his own, and bearing a World War Two medal that he claims belonged to Abby’s grandfather.

Together they begin to piece together the heartbreaking story of their relatives’ war. But as the story brings Abby and Simon closer—tentatively beginning to lean on one another to heal—they uncover a dark secret from the past.

And like Lily and Matthew nearly eighty years before them, it will make Abby and Simon question whether you can ever truly trust someone, even when they have your heart…

A heartbreakingly powerful, epic love story about courage, friendship and broken trusts, Into the Darkest Day is an unforgettable story perfect for fans of Nora Roberts, Kristin Hannah and The Notebook.

Author Bio:
6855961B-A7D2-40A4-8C7C-7041150B18E2
Kate Hewitt is the author of many romance and women’s fiction novels. A former New Yorker and now an American ex-pat, she lives in a small town on the Welsh border with her husband, five children, and their overly affectionate Golden Retriever. Whatever the genre, she enjoys telling stories that tackle real issues and touch people’s lives.
Buy Links:
My Review:

Into The Darkest Day by Kate Hewitt is a beautifully written and poignant dual timeline saga that once started I did not want to put down. I have a fondness for books with a dual timeline and it works incredibly well here, adding to the intrigue and suspense of the story as Abby and Simon, in the present day, try to piece together the heartbreaking story of Lily and Matthew in 1944 London.

When Lily meets enigmatic GI Matthew in war torn London, she is taken by surprise when she falls head over heels in love with him. But Matthew is hiding a devastating secret. One that has the potential to shatter their lives forever.

Moving forward to the present day, Abby is tormented by survivor’s guilt after the deaths of her mother and brother. But when Englishman Simon arrives bearing a World War 2 medal that he claims belonged to her grandfather, Abby finds herself working with him to piece together the heartbreaking details of their ancestors wartime experiences.

As the story brings Abby and Simon closer together, they uncover a dark secret from the past that, like Lily and Matthew nearly eighty years before them, has the ability to tear them apart. They will soon begin to question whether you can ever truly trust someone… even those who hold a piece of your heart.

What happens when trust has been broken? Is it ever possible to forgive and forget after a devastating betrayal?

Into The Darkest Day goes back and forth between timelines, telling a heartbreakingly powerful story of love, friendship, courage, secrets and the devastation caused by broken trust. Kate Hewitt has written a beautiful story that’s filled with a poignancy that makes your heart hurt.

Into The Darkest Day is an unforgettable story of love and heartbreak, set against the atmospheric backdrop of World War 2. And I loved every single breathtaking word of it! A hugely entertaining dual timeline saga that will stay with me.

Highly recommended.

Into The Darkest Day by Kate Hewitt is available to buy now.

Follow along with the blog tour to see what these other fabulous bloggers think of this wonderful book:

A9AA9194-67CA-4FF1-8894-DA1ED2A4DB73

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s