#PublicationDay #BlogTour – #BookReview of #TheFallenGirls by @KathrynCasey @bookouture @sarahhardy681 #BooksOnTour

I’m delighted to welcome you today to the first day of the blog tour for the unique but gripping The Fallen Girls by Kathryn Casey. Thank you to Sarah Hardy and Bookouture for giving me the opportunity to read and review this fascinating book.

Book Description:
94780152-DE77-4F49-B24D-DA7877BEC49E
She didn’t notice the corn stalks shiver a few feet to her right. By the time she looked up, the man towered above her. In a single movement he wrapped one thick hand around her waist, the other he clamped over her mouth, muffling her screams. 

Detective Clara Jefferies has spent years running from her childhood in Alber, Utah. But when she hears that her baby sister Delilah has disappeared, she knows that the peaceful community will be shattered, her family vulnerable, and that that she must face up to her past and go home.

Clara returns to find that her mother, Ardeth, has isolated her family by moving to the edge of town, in the shadow of the mountains. Ardeth refuses to talk to the police and won’t let Clara through the front door, believing she and her sister-wives can protect their own. But Clara knows better than anyone that her mother isn’t always capable of protecting her children.

When Clara finds out that two more girls have disappeared, all last seen around the cornfields near her family’s home, she realizes it’s not just Delilah who’s in danger. And then she gets a call that a body has been found…

Clara will have to dig deep into the town’s secrets if she’s going to find Delilah. But that will mean confronting the reason she left. And as she gets closer to Delilah, she might be putting her more at risk…

Gripping and spine-chilling, readers will love Detective Clara Jefferies, reading The Fallen Girls deep into the night. Fans of Kendra Elliot, Lisa Regan and Melinda Leigh won’t stop turning the pages of this unforgettable new series from bestselling and award-winning author Kathryn Casey.

Author Bio:
5508C7ED-8011-46C9-A541-C7D76F5AF9AE
A novelist and award-winning journalist, Kathryn Casey is the author of eleven highly acclaimed true crime books and the creator of the Sarah Armstrong mystery series.
Library Journal picked THE KILLING STORM as one of the best mysteries of 2010. Her latest true crime, IN PLAIN SIGHT, investigates the Kaufman County prosecutor murders, a case that made worldwide headlines. Casey has appeared on Oprah, 20/20, the Today Show, Good Morning America, the Biography Channel, Reelz, The Travel Network, Investigation Discovery, and many other venues.
Ann Rule called Casey “one of the best in the true crime genre.”
@KathrynCasey
Buy Links:

 

My Review:

The Fallen Girls by Kathryn Casey is the brilliant first book in the Detective Clara Jefferies series. It’s a unique and gripping story that centres around the unusual setting of a polygamist community. Capturing my imagination from the very first page, The Fallen Girls is a book that skilfully combines a spine chilling police procedural thriller with the fascinating and often frowned upon issue of polygamy.

Detective Clara Jefferies has spent years running from her childhood in Alber, Utah. But when her younger sister disappears, Clara knows that the time has finally come to face her past and go home. On arrival, she finds the town mistrustful and unwilling to talk to her. Her mother, Ardeth, has isolated herself on the edge of town and is determined to only rely on the help of her sister wives. But then it comes to light that two more girls have disappeared, all last seen around the cornfields near where they live, leaving Clara no other choice than to dig deeper into the town’s secrets. And then a body is found…

Oh my goodness, what a fabulous, unique and gripping read this is! Unlike anything I’ve ever read before, this is a book that drew me into the lives of these fascinating characters from the outset. Clara Jefferies is a wonderful character with an unusual past, and I can’t wait to learn even more about her in future installments of this brilliant series!

With twists and turns to keep you on your toes throughout, The Fallen Girls is a spine chilling thriller that also gives a thought provoking insight into the often taboo issue of polygamy. Kathryn Casey’s writing is superb and, once started, I found it very difficult to put this gripping rollercoaster of a read down.

Highly recommended.

Follow along with the blog tour to see what these other lovely bloggers have to say about this book:

0027BCE4-509A-4CAA-A47A-07042764C99D

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s