#BlogTour – #BookReview of #SummerInMayfair by Susannah Constantine @snhconstantine @HQStories #BloggerDay

I’m pleased to be posting my review of Summer in Mayfair by Susannah Constantine today as part of the Blogger Day for HQ, which is an imprint of Harper Collins. Thank you to HQ for the invitation.

About the book:

C6BAC4D8-4D83-481A-847A-1E08BE094A8F

Summer, 1979.

Twenty-six-year-old Esme Munroe has finally left the Scottish Highlands for the excitement of London.

Working at a prestigious art gallery in Mayfair, she meets gorgeous, worldly Suki, who takes her to the most exclusive bars and clubs in the city.

But it’s easy to get lost in London’s glamour and chaos, especially when a long-hidden secret looms – will Esme discover it and who she can really trust, before it’s too late?

Don’t miss this stunning novel, perfect for fans of Downton Abbey and The Crown.

About the author:

Susannah Constantine is an English fashion journalist, advisor, television presenter, author and designer.

She hosted the BBC 2 programme What Not to Wear from 2001 to 2005 and went on to co-host Trinny & Susannah Undress and Undress the Nation, as well as frequently appearing as a makeover stylist on The Oprah Winfrey Show.

In 2015, Susannah flew to Australia to compete in I’m A Celebrity Get Me Out of Here.

My Review:

Summer in Mayfair by Susannah Constantine is a gorgeously compelling and atmospheric tale that will sweep you away to the glitz and glamour of London in the summer of 1979. The perfect book for summer, this is a quick and easy read that I enjoyed immensely.

Twenty six year old Esme has left the Scottish Highlands for the excitement of London. Working at a prestigious art gallery in Mayfair she meets the beautiful Suki, soon finding herself caught up in the glitz, glamour and chaos of 1979 London. But when a long hidden secret looms, will Esme be able to uncover the truth before it’s too late? And who, if anyone, is she able to trust?

I loved getting to know Esme as she discovered this new and colourful social scene that was different to anything she’d ever known before. Her naivety as she navigated her way through this vivid and sometimes dangerous world was as frustrating as it was endearing. But it is Esme’s naivety, especially when mixed together with a mystery to be solved, that adds to the atmosphere and excitement of this gorgeously written story.

Summer in Mayfair is a captivating historical drama that is full of mystery and suspense. I didn’t realise when I started it that this was the second in a new series of books, but that didn’t take anything away from the story and I felt it read very well as a standalone. The ending left enough scope for a sequel and I hope Susannah Constantine will revisit Esme again at some time in the future.

A highly entertaining summer read that I would recommend.

Summer in Mayfair is available to purchase here: Amazon UK

12160E94-9908-420A-A35F-BE1F91EACA07

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s