#BlogTour – #BookReview of #Tapestry by Beth Duke @bethidee @damppebbles #damppebblesblogtours

940B5CCD-A932-4ED7-BE40-3DAB2ECB76AB

I’m pleased to welcome you today to my stop on the blog tour for Tapestry by Beth Duke. Thank you to Emma Welton and The Art of Dixie for giving me the opportunity to read and review this book.

Book Blurb:

12F95C7F-EB11-4C30-96BB-2D7EF20BCD77

Twenty-one-year-old Skye Willis lives in Eufaula, Alabama, a tourist mecca of stately homes and world-class bass fishing. Her childhood friends are either stuck at dead ends or have moved on to accomplish Big Things.

Skye’s grandmother, Verna, insists on being called “Sparrow” because she suspects her ancestors were Muscogee Creek. She dresses in faux deerskin and experiments with ancient Native American recipes, offering a myth or legend to anyone who will listen.

Skye has no idea what to do with her life. She’s smart as hell, but she has no faith or knowledge there’s something out there she was “born to do.” Nor does she know much of anything about her father, who died in Afghanistan when she was a toddler. He and his family are a mystery her mother won’t discuss. But when Sparrow sets out to confirm her Creek ancestry through genetic testing, Skye joins in.

The results hit like a DNA bomb, launching them both on a path filled with surprises and life changing events. Skye learns a harder truth than she ever expected.

Alternating chapters between Skye’s Alabama life and an intertwining tale of greed, deceit, and control in Texas, this story offers proof that all life is a woven tapestry of past, present, and future.

In Beth Duke’s uplifting and soul-singing voice, TAPESTRY is Southern Fiction at its best; you will cry, you will laugh out loud, and you will wish you were a member of the beautiful, matriarchal family Duke has created for her readers.

This book is a must-read for fans of Fannie Flagg, Anne Rivers Siddons, and Rebecca Wells.

About Beth Duke:

BE7EAA24-B74D-40FA-ABE9-F62997FFB5C2

Beth Duke is the recipient of short story awards on two continents and is eyeing the other five.

She lives in the mountains of her native Alabama with her husband, one real dog, one ornamental dog, and a flock of fluffy pet chickens.

She loves reading, writing, and not arithmetic.

Baking is a hobby, with semi-pro cupcakes and amateur macarons a specialty.
And puns—the worse, the better.

Travel is her other favorite thing, along with joining book clubs for discussion.

Please invite her to London…England or Kentucky, either is fine. Anywhere!

Social Media:

Twitter: https://twitter.com/bethidee
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pg/TapestryByBethDuke/posts/
Website: https://www.bethduke.com/
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/onlythebethforyou/
BookBub: https://www.bookbub.com/authors/beth-duke

Purchase Links:

Amazon US: https://amzn.to/306lErk
Amazon UK: https://amzn.to/3gWFnkl
Book Depository: https://bit.ly/2C2pgTl
Barnes and Noble: https://bit.ly/38NgBjC

Publishing Information:

Published in paperback, digital and audio formats by The Art of Dixie on 8th February 2020

My Review:

Beth Duke has written a beautiful and intricately woven tapestry of a story that drew me in from the very first page and didn’t let go until the final page had been turned. Tapestry is a book that explores themes of identity and culture, taking us on a journey that is as enlightening as it is moving.

With strong female characters who will steal your heart, it tells the story of twenty one year old Skye who, along with her grandmother ‘Sparrow’, sets out to discover the genetic secrets of her past through DNA. The results launch them headfirst on to an unexpected path of surprises and life changing events that will teach Skye a much harsher truth than she ever could have expected.

The story alternates between Skye’s life in Alabama and Texas, where an intertwining tale of greed, deceit and control is slowly revealed. Skye’s grandmother, Sparrow, is a larger than life revelation, capturing my heart with her strength of character and obvious love for her family. And Skye herself is instantly relatable, as she searches for the answers to the many questions she has about her father and his family.

Beth Duke has created a rich and multilayered story that instantly transported me to southern America and a part of history I knew very little about. The writing is powerful, drawing me into the story from the outset, with the strong, matriarchal relationship between Skye, her mother and her grandmother taking hold of my heart and refusing to let go. I loved all three of these women whose love for each other, in spite of their differences, is a bond too strong to be broken. The exploration of culture and relationships in this book is fascinating, keeping me enthralled from beginning to end.

A beautiful, powerful and moving story that will stay with me, Tapestry is a book that I would highly recommend.

Tapestry by Beth Duke is available to buy now.

Check out what these other fabulous bloggers have to say about this book:

18E3E184-5471-438D-8FD5-435125A2B585

One thought on “#BlogTour – #BookReview of #Tapestry by Beth Duke @bethidee @damppebbles #damppebblesblogtours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s