#BlogTour – #BookReview of #DontWorryEverythingIsGoingToBeAmazing by #BillyMoran @SauceMaterials

I’m pleased to welcome you today to my stop on the blog tour for the quirky and original Don’t Worry, Everything Is Going To Be Amazing by Billy Moran. Thank you to Howard from Sauce Materials for giving me the opportunity to read and review this weird but wonderful book.

About the book:

DON’T WORRY, EVERYTHING IS GOING TO BE AMAZING…

Chris Pringle: simpleton, casualty or local hero?

Propped up by biscuits, benefits and a baffling faith in his plan, he lives in a world where every day is obsessively the same: wedged in his recliner, watching murder mysteries, taking notes. Until the day a serious and peculiar crime stumps the local police – and Chris announces he can solve it.

Accompanied by a loyal crew of chancers, committed to making amends, and pursued by a depressed Detective Inspector, trying to join the dots, Chris heads back to the raves of his past, where a heartbreaking personal tragedy lies abandoned. But what exactly is Chris Pringle looking for? Has he really worked out the way to find it? And what will happen if he does?

A quirky, nostalgic, heart-warming mystery for fans of Gail Honeyman, Agatha Christie, Jennifer Egan, Ian Rankin, Matt Haig, Irvine Welsh, Ben Aaronovitch, Dave Eggers, Jon Niven, John Kennedy Toole, Belinda Bauer and Harland Miller.

About the author:

51C4A207-8F94-4970-A9B0-EB7E1939C383

Billy Moran is an award-winning television writer for shows including Horrible Histories. He grew up in the West Country, where his teenage years were rudely interrupted by the Second Summer of Love. Since then he has been  embracing mysteries, craving solutions and writing lots of lists. He lives in London and has two children, two cats, one football team and several favourite detectives.

Don’t Worry, Everything Is Going To Be Amazing is his debut novel.

My Review:

I have to admit I struggled to get into this book at first, due to its rather chaotic and fast flowing first few pages. But once I did, I found it to be a quirky and original tale that kept me thoroughly entertained throughout. Told by multiple narrators it tells the story of Chris Pringle, an often misunderstood character who, through his love of TV murder mystery shows, considers himself to be some kind of amateur detective.

Steeped in nostalgia, Don’t Worry, Everything Is Going To Be Amazing is a weird but wonderful murder mystery that is split between two timelines: the mayhem and drug fuelled raves of the 1990’s and the present day. Chris Pringle is a fascinating character you can’t help but be drawn to as he tries his hardest to get to the bottom of a recent murder. And then you have Runcie, a larger than life character with a hidden heart of gold, who is aiding the police with their investigation in the present.

With its quirky and eccentric cast of memorable characters, Billy Moran has written a unique and madcap story that is full of intrigue, mystery and suspense. Touching on issues of mental health and the acceptance of others, this is a book that is often as heartwarming as it is hilarious.

After an initial rocky start, Don’t Worry, Everything Is Going To Be Amazing is a book unlike any I’ve ever read before and, as chaotic as it sometimes is, is one that I enjoyed immensely.

Recommended.

Purchase Links:

Amazon UK
Waterstones

Check out what these other fabulous bloggers have had to say about this book:

93300884-15AB-4C6E-81E8-810C620C0282

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s