#BlogTour – #BookReview of #TheHouseAtMagpieCove by Kennedy Kerr @KennedyKerr5 @nholten40 @bookouture #BooksOnTour

I’m delighted to welcome you today to my stop on the blog tour for the wonderful and heartwarming The House at Magpie Cove by Kennedy Kerr. Thank you to Noelle Holten and Bookouture for giving me the opportunity to read and review this lovely book.

Buy LINK  

Amazon: https://geni.us/B08F5HTNGXSocial

Apple: http://ow.ly/4dGc50AS9Z6

Kobo: http://ow.ly/obE750AS9Vr

Google:  http://ow.ly/8wBT50ASa2g

 Description:

C303B317-D42A-4781-B7A9-B4A89B31DEBD

 The Cornish beach house creaked in the salty sea wind and, from the weathered wooden porch, Mara watched a lone magpie circle above. It was silly to think that her mother’s spirit was still with her, but Mara felt as if there was something keeping her here. A secret that needed to be told…

When Mara Hughes inherits her late mother’s tumbledown beach house overlooking the bright, sandy sweep of Magpie Cove, it couldn’t have come at a worse time. With her marriage on the rocks and her husband threatening to take the family home, the beach house – with all the bittersweet memories it holds – might be the thing that finally sends Mara’s world crashing down around her. She tells herself she’ll only spend a few days there: sell it and move on to rebuilding her life.

When Mara arrives, the house is in a worse state than she feared – holes in the bedroom ceiling, birds’ nests in the attic and the beautiful, wrap-around porch on the brink of collapse… but she loves it anyway. With all its history it feels like the last link to her late mother and, determined to do whatever it takes to keep it in the family, Mara strikes a deal with local handyman – and town heartthrob – Brian Oakley to save the crumbling cottage from ruin.

But when a box of unopened old letters arrives on her new doorstep – a bequest from her mother’s will – Mara’s resolve to save the beach house will be tested to the limit. Because Mara’s mother’s perfect childhood in Magpie Cove was forever spoiled by one haunting day in July, and the letters contain a secret about her family that Mara can scarcely believe to be true…

A story of secrets, family and forgiveness, this heartfelt read set in beautiful Cornwall is perfect for fans of Susanne O’Leary, Fern Britton and Rosanna Ley.

Author Bio:

87C90084-CF8A-41F9-8B80-2E5F1783DA9F

Kennedy Kerr is the author of A Spell of Murder, a witch themed cozy mystery, and The House at Magpie Cove (November 2020) and The Café at Magpie Cove (coming in 2021). She adores beaches, lochs and magical places, and loves writing about small communities, mysteries and family secrets.

Kennedy also loves cooking and baking all types of food, which is almost as much fun as eating it.

 Author Social Media Links

 FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/kennedykerrauthor/

 TWITTER: https://twitter.com/KennedyKerr5

My Review:

The House at Magpie Cove by Kennedy Kerr is pure escapism at its very best. A heartwarming and emotional read, I enjoyed every moment I spent in Magpie Cove with Mara as she tried to come to terms with not only the break down of her marriage, but also the long hidden secrets that were about to come to light.

These days I find myself turning more and more to fiction I can lose myself in, that takes me far away from the realities of real life. And this book does just that! Set against the beautiful backdrop of Cornwall, The House at Magpie Cove swept me away on a journey of love, secrets and forgiveness that once started I could not tear myself away from until the final, gorgeous page had been turned.

Kennedy Kerr’s writing is beautiful and she has written a light and easy read that captures your imagination from the very first word. But having said that, this is no frivolous read, it is a book that packs quite an emotional punch, filled to the brim as it is with moving, heartfelt moments that instantly transported me to Magpie Cove and the tumbledown beach house with its bittersweet memories and hidden secrets.

With fascinating characters and a story that kept me captivated throughout, The House at Magpie Cove is a rewarding and emotional read that I would highly recommend.

Check out what these other lovely bloggers have to say about this book:

D30A3538-3507-4EFF-9AB4-03A92648D978

 

2 thoughts on “#BlogTour – #BookReview of #TheHouseAtMagpieCove by Kennedy Kerr @KennedyKerr5 @nholten40 @bookouture #BooksOnTour

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s