#BlogTour – #BookReview of #TheOnceAndFutureWitches by Alix E. Harrow @AlixEHarrow @orbitbooks @Tr4cyF3nt0n

I’m beyond excited to welcome you today to my stop on the blog tour for incredible new book The Once and Future Witches by Alix E. Harrow, whose debut novel The Ten Thousand Doors of January was one of my favourite reads of last year.

About the book:

3F12906F-8869-4C64-B2E0-7FE756E32B48

In 1893, there’s no such thing as witches. There used to be, in the wild, dark days before the burnings began, but now witching is nothing but tidy charms and nursery rhymes. If the modern woman wants any measure of power, she must find it at the ballot box.

But when the three Eastwood sisters join the suffragists of New Salem, they begin to pursue the forgotten ways that might turn the women’s movement into the witch’s movement. Stalked by shadows and sickness, hunted by forces who will not suffer a witch to vote – and perhaps not even to live – the sisters must delve into the oldest magics, draw new alliances, and heal the bond between them if they want to survive.

There’s no such thing as witches. But there will be.

About the author:

3BA25248-6DEB-426B-A059-C4CA0FD28AA7

From the author of the word-of-mouth bestseller The Ten Thousand Doors of January comes this lush, magical tale of sisters and suffragettes, for readers of The Night Circus, The Power and The Binding.

Find Alix on Twitter at @AlixEHarrow

My Review:

I’m not sure I’m ever going to be able to find the words to do this remarkable book justice, especially at the moment when my brain seems to have turned to mush with everything going on in the world right now. But I’ll try my best to convey just how wonderful I think this book is and what an astonishing new talent I find Alix E. Harrow to be.

I didn’t think anything could ever top The Ten Thousand Doors of January, but with The Once and Future Witches, Alix E. Harrow has done just that. In her debut novel the author made me remember why I fell in love with reading in the first place, but in this, her second novel, she has reinforced that feeling and swept me away on a magical high I never want to come down from. I honestly can’t even find the words to say how her words make me feel. She has masterfully incorporated fairytales and nursery rhymes into a story that encompasses everything from a woman’s right to vote to racial inequality and beyond. That she has done this so effortlessly in an awe inspiring story filled with magic and witchcraft is quite simply incredible.

The Once and Future Witches tells the story of three sisters who join the suffragists of New Salem, determined to reclaim the power women once had. But the road to success will not be easy, with the sisters not only haunted by evil forces who will stop at nothing to prevent them from winning the right to vote, but also by their own past and the rift that once tore them apart.

To say any more would be to do this incredible book a disservice as this is a tale, much like The Ten Thousand Doors of January before it, that needs to be experienced for yourself. I’m in awe of Alix E. Harrow’s writing and the power of her words. Her world building is second to none, her characters strong and memorable, telling a story of the power of women and how no one should ever underestimate what they’re capable of. Oh my word, what a gifted storyteller this superb author is!

I fell in love with this book from the very first page. It grabbed my attention from the introduction and didn’t let go until the final, thrilling page had been turned. There is so much in this book to shout about, I don’t even know where to start! A thought provoking and exciting read that has shot straight to the top of my list of must read books of the year. By turns both devastating and magical, I honestly can’t rate The Once and Future Witches highly enough.

So there you have it. I’m not sure I’ve been able to do this remarkable book justice, but suffice to say Alix E. Harrow is a rare talent and I can’t wait to read whatever she comes up with next. The Once and Future Witches is an outstanding read that I will never forget.

Highly recommended.

The Once and Future Witches is available to purchase now: Amazon UK

Check out what these other fabulous bloggers have to say about this book:

2 thoughts on “#BlogTour – #BookReview of #TheOnceAndFutureWitches by Alix E. Harrow @AlixEHarrow @orbitbooks @Tr4cyF3nt0n

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s