#BlogTour – #BookReview of #BodyLanguage by A.K. Turner @AnyaLipska @ZaffreBooks @Tr4cyF3nt0n #CompulsiveReaders

I’m delighted to welcome you today to my stop on the blog tour for fabulous thriller Body Language by A.K. Turner. Thank you to Zaffre Books and Tracy Fenton for giving me the opportunity to read and review this wonderful book.

About the book:

63078EC6-24AA-4C62-87A7-074BD8D33DAF

For fans of Tess Gerritsen and Kathy Reichs comes a gripping debut thriller introducing Camden’s most exciting new forensic investigator.

Cassie Raven believes the dead can talk. We just need to listen . . .

People think being a mortuary technician is a seriously weird job. They can’t understand why I choose to cut up dead bodies for a living. But they don’t know what I know:

The dead want to tell us what happened to them.

I’ve eviscerated thousands of bodies, but never someone I know before – someone who meant a lot to me; someone I loved.

The pathologist says that her death was an accident.

Her body is telling me differently.

About the author:

B99B3400-3C19-4489-960C-80FBC74D0B99

A K Turner likes to create memorable characters, throw them into unusual settings, and add a hefty dose of murder and a twisty-turny plot.

Her latest book, Body Language, introduces a new kind of forensic heroine – a crime-solving Goth-girl mortuary technician who talks to the dead, a character first launched in two crime shorts aired on BBC Radio 4. A K’s previous series, written under the pen name Anya Lipska, starred a London-based Polish fixer who’s happy to crack heads to solve crimes – which saw her being selected for Val McDermid’s prestigious New Blood Panel at Harrogate Crime Festival in 2012.

A K (aka Ali) lives in East London where she is writing more mortuary-set mysteries. Her day job is producing TV documentaries on true crime and science topics. And just for light relief she is training to be a City of London guide…

Read more about A K’s books over at http://www.anyalipska.com where you can sign up to her newsletter for news and giveaways.

My Review:

Body Language by A.K. Turner introduces Cassandra ‘Cassie’ Raven, a crime solving forensic investigator with a difference: she can talk to dead people. And even more surprising is the fact that they can talk back! Not your usual kind of  mortuary technician, Cassie is a unique and interesting character, with her goth-like appearance and extraordinary talent, life is never going to be dull when she’s around.

Then one day she opens a body bag to discover someone she knows. The woman who set her on the road to where she is today, her night school teacher, Mrs E. But what is seemingly an accidental death turns into something much more suspicious when Cass begins to work on the body of her friend. And when Mrs E’s son arrives, things begin to get even stranger…

I loved this first book in what I hope will turn into a much longer series. Cassie herself is a fascinating character who I look forward to learning even more about as the series continues. Her relationship with her Polish grandmother, the strong and wonderful Weronika, is fantastic, as are her dealings with Phyllida Flyte, a policewoman with a traumatic past, who is sent to investigate the disappearance of a body from the mortuary.

I love finding a new series to sink my teeth into and this one shows great promise. A.K. Turner’s writing is immensely readable, the story moving along at a cracking pace, with twists, turns and surprises every step of the way. With her tattoos, body piercings and unique talent, Cassie Raven is a breath of fresh air and I can’t wait to see where this talented author is going to take her memorable new character next.

Highly recommended.

Body Language by A.K. Turner is available to purchase now: Amazon UK

Check out what these other lovely bloggers have to say about this book:

5A6D8541-93F3-45BD-90B0-7B34EFAEBCF8

2 thoughts on “#BlogTour – #BookReview of #BodyLanguage by A.K. Turner @AnyaLipska @ZaffreBooks @Tr4cyF3nt0n #CompulsiveReaders

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s