#BlogTour -#BookReview of #TheSmallestMan by Frances Quinn @FranQuinn @SimonSchusterUK @RandomTTours #RandomThingsTours

I’m delighted to welcome you today to my stop on the blog tour for incredible read The Smallest Man by Frances Quinn. Thank you to Anne Cater and Simon & Schuster for giving me the opportunity to read and review this extraordinary book.

About the book:

D37EF25C-494C-459E-8E79-CD823CC69309

The smallest man. The biggest heart. The mightiest story. A compelling story, perfect for fans of The Doll Factory and The Familiars.

Nat Davy longs to grow tall and strong and be like other boys, but at the age of ten, he’s confronted with the truth; he’s different, and the day when the stares and whispers stop is never going to come.

Narrowly escaping life in a freak show, he’s plucked from his family and presented as a gift to the new young queen of England – a human pet to add to her menagerie of dogs and monkeys. But when Nat realises she’s as lost and lonely as he is, the two misfits begin an unlikely friendship – one that takes him on an unforgettable journey, as England slides into the civil war that will tear it apart and ultimately lead the people to kill their king.

Inspired by a true story, and spanning two decades that changed England for ever, The Smallest Man is narrated by an irrepressible hero with his own unique perspective on life. His story is about being different, but not letting it hold you back. About being brave enough to take a chance, even if the odds aren’t good. And about how, when everything else is falling apart, true friendship holds people together.

About the author:

1B2A5C13-C6D9-4670-9D46-7D06D48836D9

Frances Quinn read English at King’s College, Cambridge, and is a journalist and copywriter. She has written for magazines including Prima, Good Housekeeping, She, Woman’s Weekly and Ideal Home.

She lives in Brighton with her husband and who Tonkinese cats. The Smallest Man is her first novel.

Follow her on Twitter @franquinn.

My Review:

The Smallest Man by Frances Quinn is an extraordinary novel about the life and times of an extraordinary man. Nathaniel Davy longs to grow tall and strong and to be like all the other boys, but the truth is he will always be different and the day he longs for is never going to arrive.

But then his life is changed forever when, after narrowly escaping life in a freak show, he’s plucked from his family and is given as a gift to the new young Queen of England. Nat soon realises that she is as lost and lonely as he is, and so the two begin an unlikely friendship.

The Smallest Man is inspired by a true story and is a remarkable tale of bravery and friendship that spans a time in history that changed England forever. I can’t even begin to say how much I loved this book. I was totally immersed in Nat’s story from the very first page and I couldn’t help but fall head over heels in love with this extraordinary man, who somehow always kept going no matter what curveballs life threw his way. Frances Quinn has brought this time in history vividly to life, with Nat taking centre stage in a story that completely blew me away.

It’s hard to believe that this is Frances Quinn’s debut novel as her writing is so accomplished. I was enthralled by The Smallest Man from beginning to end, with Nathaniel Davy capturing my imagination from the moment he was introduced. The attention to detail is astonishing, the writing exquisite, the story compelling and the characterisation outstanding.

Frances Quinn has written a really rather wonderful book that I absolutely adored!  The Smallest Man is an outstanding debut and a truly remarkable read that I would highly recommend.

The Smallest Man by Frances Quinn is available to purchase now: Amazon UK

Check out what these other lovely bloggers have to say about this book:

8CD5C18A-19B5-45D2-A729-AA9BD8371F34

One thought on “#BlogTour -#BookReview of #TheSmallestMan by Frances Quinn @FranQuinn @SimonSchusterUK @RandomTTours #RandomThingsTours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s