#BlogTour – #BookReview of #TheHouseBeneathTheCliffs by Sharon Gosling @sharongosling @simonschusterUK @RandomTTours #RandomThingsTours

I’m delighted to welcome you today to my stop on the blog tour for the lovely and heartwarming The House Beneath the Cliffs by Sharon Gosling. Thank you to Anne Cater and Simon & Schuster for giving me the opportunity to read and review this gorgeous book.

About the book:

A remote yet beautiful Scottish village. A tiny kitchen lunch club. The perfect place to start again.

Anna moves to Crovie, a tiny fishing village on the Moray Firth, for a fresh start. But when she arrives, she realises her new home is really no more than a shed, and the village itself sits beneath a cliff right on the edge of the sea, in constant danger of storms and landslides.

Has she made a terrible mistake?

Yet as she begins to learn about the Scottish coast and its people, something she thought she’d lost reawakens in her. She rediscovers her love of cooking, and turns her kitchen into a pop-up lunch club. But not all the locals are delighted about her arrival, and some are keen to see her plans fail.

Will Anna really be able to put down roots in this remote and wild village? Or will her fragile new beginning start to crumble with the cliffs …

Beautiful, moving and utterly absorbing, The House Beneath the Cliffs is a novel of friendship and food, storms and secrets, and the beauty of second chances. An exciting new voice in commercial fiction, perfect for fans of Victoria Hislop and Kate Morton


About the author:

Sharon Gosling lives with her husband in a very remote village in northern Cumbia, where they moved to run a second-hand bookshop, Withnail Books in Penrith.

She began her career in entertainment journalism, writing for magazines in the science fiction and fantasy genre, before moving on to write tie-in books for TV shows such as Stargate and the ‘re-imagined’ Battlestar Galactica. She has also written, produced and directed audio dramas based in the same genre,

When she’s not writing, she creates beautiful linocut artwork and is the author of multiple children’s books. The House Beneath the Cliffs is her first adult novel.

Follow her at @sharongosling.

My Review:

The House Beneath the Cliffs by Sharon Gosling is exactly the sort of book I love. Filled with larger than life and interesting characters and with a beautiful Scottish backdrop, it is a gorgeously written and heartwarming tale that I thoroughly enjoyed from beginning to end.

Anna moves to the tiny fishing village of Crovie for a new beginning. But on arrival she soon realises that her new home is nothing like she expected it to be. With a house no better than a shed and the village itself sitting beneath a cliff at the edge of the sea, in constant threat of storms and landslides, she begins to wonder if she’s made a huge mistake.

But as she begins to learn more about the Scottish coast and the people that make up the local community, she finds herself beginning to fall in love with the place. Rediscovering her love of cooking, she decides to begin a new venture and opens a pop-up lunch club from her own kitchen. But this doesn’t go down well with some of the locals, with some even eagerly hoping the lunch club will be a dismal failure. Will Anna be able to change the minds of the reluctant locals? Or is her hope of a new life about to crumble along with the treacherous cliffs?

What follows is a heartwarming tale of love, secrets, friendship and new beginnings that once started I did not want to put down. While the focus is firmly on Anna and her story, there is also a varied cast of peripheral characters that are every bit as interesting as she is. I loved the beautiful Scottish setting and the sense of community as the villagers began to pull together, the story a warm and refreshing breath of fresh air.

The House Beneath the Cliffs is a self contained story that I would love to see turned into a series. Sharon Gosling’s writing is beautiful, drawing me into the story from the very first page and making me fall in love with these rich and interesting characters from the outset. I hope this isn’t the last we see of these characters or of beautiful Crovie Village as I loved everything about this gorgeous book.

With a story that brings joy to your heart, The House Beneath the Cliffs is a warm comforting hug of a book that I would highly recommend.

The House Beneath the Cliffs by Sharon Gosling is available to purchase now:

Check out what these other lovely bloggers have to say about this book:

2 thoughts on “#BlogTour – #BookReview of #TheHouseBeneathTheCliffs by Sharon Gosling @sharongosling @simonschusterUK @RandomTTours #RandomThingsTours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s