#BlogTour – #BookReview of #ALetterFromPearlHarbor by Anna Stuart @annastuartbooks @bookouture #BooksOnTour

I’m delighted to welcome you today to my stop on the blog tour for moving historical novel A Letter From Pearl Harbor by Anna Stuart. Thank you to Sarah Hardy and Bookouture for giving me the opportunity to read and review this wonderful book.

Book Description:

Ninety-eight-year-old Ginny McAllister’s last wish is for her granddaughter to complete a treasure hunt containing clues to her past. Clues that reveal her life as one of the first female pilots at Pearl Harbor, and a devastating World War Two secret.

1941, Pearl Harbor: 

On the morning of December 7th, Ginny is flying her little yellow plane above the sparkling seas when she spots an unknown aircraft closing in on her. She recognises the red symbol of the Japanese fighter planes almost too late.

Somehow, she manages to land unscathed but the choices she is forced to make in the terrible hours that follow have tragic consequences…

2019, Pearl Harbor:

Heartbroken Robyn Harris is reeling from the death of the strong, determined grandmother who raised her. Her only comfort is a letter written in Ginny’s distinctive hand which details a treasure hunt, just like the ones she used to set for her as a little girl. Except this time, the clues are scattered across the beautiful island of Hawaii. Despite her grief, Robyn finds herself intrigued as she follows the trail of letters, revealing the truth about Ginny’s service during the Second World War.

But Robyn’s whole world is turned upside down when she’s faced with a shocking secret which has the power to change the course of her own life…

Inspired by true events, this is a heartbreaking and unforgettable WW2 novel about love, loss and bravery. Perfect for fans of The Alice Network, The Nightingale and Kathryn Hughes.

Author Bio:

Anna Stuart lives in Derbyshire with her campervan-mad husband, two hungry teenagers and a slightly loopy dog. She was hooked on books from the moment she first opened one in her cot so is thrilled to now have several of her own to her name. Having studied English literature at Cambridge university, she took an enjoyable temporary trip into the ‘real world’ as a factory planner, before returning to her first love and becoming an author.

History has also always fascinated her. Living in an old house with a stone fireplace, she often wonders who sat around it before her and is intrigued by how actively the past is woven into the present, something she likes to explore in her novels. Anna loves the way that writing lets her ‘try on’ so many different lives, but her favourite part of the job is undoubtedly hearing from readers.

You can reach her on Facebook @annastuartauthor or Twitter @annastuartbooks.

Buy Links:

Amazon: https://bit.ly/3pMCQ3S

Apple: https://apple.co/3rPFlB7

Kobo: https://bit.ly/3lmiVqc

Google: https://bit.ly/3jgkLpE

Audible:UK: zpr.io/CVvXzDbnEguk

US: zpr.io/6fh4LZg5GYR2

Listen to a sample here: https://bit.ly/3BijWnz

My Review:

Inspired by true events, A Letter From Pearl Harbor by Anna Stuart is a moving and unforgettable historical novel about love, loss and courage. Split between two timelines, it tells the story of Ginny McAllister, one of the first female pilots at Pearl Harbor in 1941, and her granddaughters Robyn and Ashleigh in 2019 as they set out to solve the treasure hunt Ginny left for them just before she died.

I was instantly transported to the Pearl Harbor of 1941 as Ginny flew her little yellow plane above the sparkling seas. I could feel the tension as the story began to unfold, with the choices she is forced to make having heartbreaking consequences that haunted her for the rest of her life.

Beautifully written by Anna Stuart, A Letter From Pearl Harbor is set in both England and Hawaii, moving seamlessly between the dual timelines as the story is cleverly woven together, slowly uncovering its secrets little by little as the sisters begin to work through the clues, eventually revealing the truth of what had really happened to Ginny during World War 2.

I loved this book. It is a well paced, gripping story full of intrigue and suspense that is steeped in a history that is brought vividly to life by the author. With characters you can’t help but like and root for, A Letter From Pearl Harbor kept me reading long into the night. Anna Stuart’s writing is superb, capturing my imagination from the very first page and not letting go until the final page had been turned.

There is so much more I could say, but this is a story you really need to discover for yourself. A truly fascinating and inspirational tale of love and loss that will stay with me for a long time to come, A Letter From Pearl Harbor is a moving and memorable historical novel that I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend.

A Letter From Pearl Harbor is available to purchase now.

Check out what these other fabulous bloggers have to say about this book:

One thought on “#BlogTour – #BookReview of #ALetterFromPearlHarbor by Anna Stuart @annastuartbooks @bookouture #BooksOnTour

  1. This sounds pretty good but… I really am getting tired of dual timelines. However, if that “treasure hunt” was something the grandmother actually left her granddaughters in real life, then that would justify the dual timeline. Did it say something about that in the author’s notes?

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s