#BlogTour – #BookReview of #TheWomanInTheLibrary by @SulariGentill @UltimoPress @RandomTTours #RandomThingsTours

I’m thrilled to welcome you today to my stop on the blog tour for quirky and original murder mystery thriller The Woman in the Library by Sulari Gentill. Thank you to Tracy Fenton and Ultimo Press for giving me the opportunity to read and review this fabulous book.

About the book:

.In every person’s story, there is something to hide…

From award-winning author Sulari Gentill comes a mischievous, twisty crime novel in the vein of Only Murders in the Building and White Lotus.

Four strangers in the Reading Room at Boston Public Library are introduced by a scream. Caught up in the subsequent murder investigation, each one finds themselves revealing more than they intended about their pasts as they race to solve the murder before one of them gets hurt.

Whilst their stories unfold, so does another. Dear Hannah…

As correspondence between the author and an avid fan becomes interwoven with the core tale, the boundaries between what is fiction and what is real life begin to blur, highlighting the lengths people will go to keep their secrets.

Through these entwined narratives, Gentill delves into the complicated nature of friendships, the lives we show versus the lives we lead and the ways in which art can imitate life. Or perhaps it’s the other way around?

A sharply thrilling literary adventure, The Woman in the Library is contemporary crime with a clever twist.

About the author:

After setting out to study astrophysics, graduating in law and then abandoning her legal career to write books, Sulari now grows French black truffles on her farm in the foothills of the Snowy Mountains of NSW. Sulari is the author of The Rowland Sinclair Mysteries, historical crime fiction novels (ten in total) set in the 1930s. Sulari’s work has been shortlisted for the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize (Best First Book), the Davitt Award, the Ned Kelly Award and the ABIA. She won the Davitt Award for the A Decline in Prophets, and the Ned Kelly Award for her most recent standalone novel, Crossing the Lines.

My Review:

The Woman in the Library by Sulari Gentill is a fun and unique murder mystery thriller that will keep you guessing right through to the very end. A quirky, intelligent read, this is a book full of twists, turns, shocks and surprises that had me hooked from the very first page.

The story opens as four strangers sit at a table in the Boston Public Library, when all of a sudden a piercing scream shatters the silence. A woman has been murdered in the library. The four new friends suddenly find themselves under investigation for murder, with each one revealing much more than they ever intended to. But, as they search for the truth, yet another story is slowly beginning to unfold…

What follows is a gripping page turner of a read that had me on the edge of my seat throughout. A fun and original plot that is unlike anything I’ve ever read before, the chapters alternate between a murder mystery novel and letters from an avid fan who is critiquing the author’s work.

I don’t want to give too much away, as this is a book that needs to be read and savoured, its secrets tantalisingly revealed little by little. With fascinatingly complex characters and a uniqueness to the narrative that ratchets the intrigue and suspense up to almost breaking point, the twists and turns come thick and fast as the story heads towards a denouement that I did not see coming. Sulari Gentill has written a clever, multilayered murder mystery thriller that will have you racing through the pages, not able to put it down until the final shocking twist has been revealed.

The Woman in the Library is a fast paced and highly addictive read that I would highly recommend. I can’t wait to read whatever this talented author comes up with next!

The Woman in the Library by Sulari Gentill is available to buy now:

Check out what these other lovely bloggers have to say about this book:

One thought on “#BlogTour – #BookReview of #TheWomanInTheLibrary by @SulariGentill @UltimoPress @RandomTTours #RandomThingsTours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s