#BlogTour – #BookReview of #InfinityGate by M.R. Carey @michaelcarey191 @Tr4cyF3nt0n @orbitbooks

I’m pleased to welcome you today to my stop on the blog tour for sci-fi thriller Infinity Gate, first in a brand new series of books by M.R. Carey. Thank you to Tracy Fenton and Orbit Books for giving me the opportunity to read and review this gripping book. I can’t wait to see what’s going to happen next!

About the book:

From the international bestselling M. R. Carey comes a thrilling novel set in the multiverse – the tale of humanity’s expansion across millions of dimensions, and the AI technology that might see it all come to an end . . .

INFINITY IS ONLY THE BEGINNING.

The Pandominion: a political and trading alliance of a million worlds – except that they’re really just the one world, Earth, in many different realities. And when an AI threat arises that could destroy everything the Pandominion has built, they’ll eradicate it by whatever means necessary, no matter the cost to human life.

Scientist Hadiz Tambuwal is looking for a solution to her own Earth’s environmental collapse when she stumbles across the secret of inter-dimensional travel. It could save everyone on her dying planet, but now she’s walked into the middle of a war on a scale she never dreamed of.

And she needs to choose a side before it kills her.

Discover the spectacular first novel in The Pandominion – an exhilarating new science fiction duology from the author of the million-copy bestseller The Girl With All the Gifts. Perfect for fans of The Space Between Worlds, The Long Earth and Children of Time.

About the author:

M. R. Carey has been making up stories for most of his life. His novel The Girl With All the Gifts was a word-of-mouth bestseller and is now a major motion picture based on his own screenplay. Under the name Mike Carey he has written for both DC and Marvel, including critically acclaimed runs on Lucifer, Hellblazer and X-Men. His creator-owned series The Unwritten appeared regularly in the New York Times graphic fiction bestseller list. He also has several previous novels, games, radio plays, and TV and movie screenplays to his credit.

My Review:

Infinity Gate by M.R. Carey is the first book of the Pandominion, which is a political and trading alliance of a million worlds that is made up of the many different realities that make up just one world: Earth. So when an AI threat arises that could destroy everything, the Pandominion will stop at nothing to eradicate it, no matter how high the cost is.

This first installment is told in three parts, with the first introducing scientist Hadiz Tambuwal who is from what appears to be our Earth. Hadiz, has stumbled upon the secret of inter-dimensional travel which enables the jump between multiverses. She’s hopeful that the discovery could save everyone on her dying planet, but instead finds herself stranded in the middle of a war that’s bigger than anything she could ever have imagined.

We are then introduced to Essien Nkanika, who grew up in the slums of a parallel Lagos in Nigeria, which is remarkably similar to our own world. And then there’s Topaz Tourmaline FiveHills from the Pandominion, who has unwittingly been caught up in the fear and paranoia of the war. As we begin to find out more about the Pandominion and the Ansurrection that are at war with each other it soon becomes clear that Hadiz, Essien and Topaz are being brought together to either fight these two powerful organisations or to escape from them…

M.R. Carey is a master world builder, skillfully bringing the multiverses vividly to life as he begins to lay down the foundations of what is yet to come. Infinity Gate is an immensely readable and highly entertaining novel that is so beautifully written I couldn’t help but be captivated by its gorgeous imagery from the opening page. An impressive and immersive read that had me completely enthralled from beginning to end, I loved this introduction to the multiverse of the Pandominion and can’t wait to see where M.R. Carey is going to take this story from here. With well drawn characters and a riveting storyline, Infinity Gate is a fantastic sci-fi thriller that I would highly recommend,

Infinity Gate by M.R. Carey is available to buy now:

Check out what these other lovely bloggers have to say about this book:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s